The 2010 Thomas & Uber Cup will be the 26th tournament of the Thomas Cup and 23rd tournament of the Uber Cup, the most important badminton tournaments in men's and women's team competition, respectively.

The final rounds will be held from May 9 to May 16 at Putra Indoor Stadium in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The Thomas Cup – “Men’s Team World Badminton Championship”, held every two years, is the most sought after men’s team trophy for badminton. Only three nations have won the Thomas Cup since its inception in 1948; Malaysia, Indonesia and China.

China has won that last three Thomas Cups held in Jakarta in 2004,Sendai/Tokyo in 2006 and Jakarta 2008.The next Men’s Team World Badminton Championship for the Thomas Cup will be hosted in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 09 - 16 May 2010.

The Thomas Cup championships will be combined again with the Uber Cup - the Women’s Team World Badminton Championship.

Formerly known as 'The International Badminton Championship Challenge Cup', the silver-gilt trophy is usually referred to by its more familiar title of 'The Thomas Cup'.

The Thomas Cup competition in 1948 was BWF’s first major international tournament. The trophy was donated by the first president of the world body, Sir George Thomas.