KUALA LUMPUR (15 MAY 2010) – South Korea ended their Uber Cup jinx in style when they dethroned China 3-1 in the final of the 23rd edition of the World Team Championships for women at the Putra Stadium in Bukti Jalil today.

The pumped up Koreans rose to the occasion and handed the mighty Chinese a lesson in badminton to win their first ever Uber Cup after the disappointment of losing their previous five finals – all to China.

The Koreans broke down the the Great Wall in style after winning the first singles through Bae Seung Hee and the first doubles through Lee Hyo Jung-Kim Min Jung.

Wang Xin pulled a point back for China when she won the second singles but Korea made sure the cup was theirs when second doubles Lee Kyung Won-Ha Jung Eun won the third winning point.

"This is a historic day for Korean badminton. We reached the finals five times before and we were beaten in all five by China. But today it was a different story, we were not the second fiddle.

“We've had enough of losing to the Chinese. The players were determined to break the jinx and we did it in Kuala Lumpur. We will remember the Putra Stadium and the supporters for their support,” said Korea team manager Kim Jong Soo.

“We are worthy winners. China under estimated us. Tomorrow is Teachers Day and the players presented the perfect present to their teachers (coaches).”

Korea’s top singles player Bae Seung Hee put her country on the right track when she dumped World No 1 Wang Yihan in straight sets, winning 23-21, 21-11 in 49 minutes.

The Chinese camp was shell shocked with the early setback as they had expected Wang Yihan to deliver to first point to give the defending champions the psychological boost and advantage.

But the Chinese were virtually speechless and a sullen looking Li Yongbo – the Chinese chief coach – spoke of the mood in the camp as the Koreans, boosted by Seung Hee’s win, took the first doubles as well with Lee Hyo Jung-Kim Min Jung battling for 66 minutes before registering a 18-21, 21-12, 21-15 win over Ma Jin-Wang Xiaoli.

Wang Xin narrowed the deficit to 1-2 when she defeated Sung Ji Hyun in a three setter before winning 21-14, 16-21, 21-7 in 59 minutes.

Korea had played five Uber Cup finals – in 1988, 1990, 1992, 2002 and 2004 – but China denied them the title on all occassion.

For the record, China had not been beaten since 1998 with the last defeat in 1996 when they were beaten 1-4 by Indonesia in the final in Hong Kong.- Media247

< Back to Latest news