KUALA LUMPUR (21 APRIL 2010) - Denmark may have yet to lay their hands on the prestigious Thomas Cup - the supremacy of the World's Men's Team Championships - but the badminton playing Scandinavian country holds a proud record in the competition.

Denmark is the only nation to have reached the final stage in all 25 competitions and without ever receiving a bye to it as of 2008. Malaysia and Indonesia are next on the list, appearing in the Finals 22 times followed by China (14 times), South Korea (13 times) and England (11).

Sweden and Thailand, 10 times each. Japan have appeared in the Finals nine times, India (seven) and Canada and New Zealand five times. Those who have reached the Finals once as of 2008 are Finland, Netherlands, Nigeria and Singapore.

And it will be 26 times when Denmark plays in this year's Thomas Cup Finals which will be held at the Putra Stadium in Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur from May 9-16.

Denmark are drawn in Group C together with the rest of the European qualifiers, namely Germany and Poland.

Defending champions and top seeds China are drawn in Group A with South Korea and Peru while hosts Malaysia are in Group B with Japan and Nigeria. Group D is made up of second seeds Indonesia, India and Australia.

Indonesia and China have also advanced to the final stage in each competition that they have entered.

Geographically, nine Asian nations have qualified to play in the Finals as of 2008 compared to six from Europe. New Zealand and Australia are the only countries from the Oceania region.

Pan American countries to have reached this stage are the United States and Canada while South Africa and Nigeria are the two countries to have made the Finals from the African zone.

< Back to Latest news